1. Skip to navigation
  2. Skip to content
  3. Skip to sidebar


Navy Meritorious Unit Commendation

In July of 1967 the Secretary of the Navy ordered the establishment of the Navy Meritorious Unit Commendation as its newest entry into the medals of America. These mid-level Navy ribbons are bestowed in the name of the Secretary of the Navy to both Navy and Marine Corps units. To win these Navy and Marine Corps ribbons, the unit must display superior performance in exceptionally difficult tasks that sets them above other units performing similar tasks. The required unit performance must generally be the equivalent to what is required of an individual to earn the US military medals known as the Bronze Star. Service in the combat area is not required so long as the service performed is directly related to the combat effort. The Navy Meritorious Unit Commendation ranks below the Navy Unit Commendation, and above the Navy “E” Ribbon in the general order of precedence which has been established for the proper display of all military medals and military ribbons. Additional Awards are denoted by bronze or silver Service Star devices for both the Navy and the Marine Corps. This award is also available as a Unit Banner.

Your price: $1.25