1. Skip to navigation
  2. Skip to content
  3. Skip to sidebar


Distinguished Flying Cross

The Distinguished Flying Cross is one of the more interesting medals of America that has ever been created. Service persons of friendly foreign nations serving with the U.S. during wartime are eligible to receive these US military medals, as well as certain civilians. These military ribbons and medals were authorized by an Act of Congress on July 2, 1926, and tradition says that Charles Lindbergh was its first recipient. Commander Richard Byrd was the first naval aviator to receive this military decoration, for his May 9, 1926 flight to the North Pole. Both Lindbergh and Byrd also received the Medal of Honor for their pioneering flights.
The Distinguished Flying Cross can be awarded to members of the U.S. armed forces who are deemed to have performed heroic acts or extraordinary achievements during aerial flight after November 11, 1918. Some of the more famous people to receive these military medals for military service are: Jimmy Doolittle, Joseph McCarthy, Jimmy Stewart, Clark Gable, Chuck Yeager, George H.W. Bush, John McCain, Alexander Haig, Ted Stevens, John Glenn, and George McGovern. Civilians who have received the award include: Orville Wright, Wilbur Wright, Wiley Post, and Amelia Earhart.
Subsequent awards of the Distinguished Flying Cross are indicated by devices worn on the military medals or service ribbons. The U.S. Army and the U.S. Air Force both use Oak Leaf Cluster devices, and the U.S. Navy, U.S. Marines, and U.S. Coast Guard use Gold and Silver Stars.
The Distinguished Flying Cross is worn below the Legion of Merit Medal and above the Soldier’s Medal from the U.S. Army, the Navy and Marine Corps Medal from the U.S. Navy and Marines, the Airman’s Medal from the U.S. Air Force, and the Coast Guard Medal from the U.S. Coast Guard in the general order of precedence that has been established for the proper display of all military ribbons and medals. 

Your price: $1.35